CLARE JAMES

 

Clare James | REBEL FIN CO.

Clare’s not sure if she’s a photographer addicted to surfing or a surfer addicted to photography. Whatever the case, her love of the sea fuels both passions. Even as a small child she’s always loved jumping in the sea, whatever the weather, and sometimes even fully dressed!

Clare first discovered her love of surfing in 2009 when she moved to Falmouth, Cornwall, to study. One day she borrowed a foamy for fun and from that day on she was hooked. Today she lives in Newquay on the north coast, where she can walk to the beach from her house. Surfing is as much a part of her daily routine as eating and drinking. There’s nothing that stokes her creative photography spirit more than a strong coffee and a morning surf. 

Her photography career began when she was working as an underwater photographer and dive instructor in Mexico. Clare is extremely passionate about protecting the environment and six months later she started her first photography project to raise awareness for marine pollution. She is now a successful photographer and videographer and chooses to work with sustainable surf and clothing brands.

We are hooked on Clare. We love her passion for the sea and her consistently sustainable lifestyle. We didn’t have to persuade her for long to create a surf short for us, featuring her friend and Rebel Fins ambassador Lottie Lewis on the Cornish coast. 

We are so happy to have Clare in our network and are excited to work alongside each other to make our world as sustainable as possible.

 

Clare on Insta /  Clare James Photography

CLARE JAMES

 

Clare James | REBEL FIN CO.
Clare kann nicht genau sagen, ob sie eine nach Fotografie süchtige Surferin, oder eine nach Surfen süchtige Fotografin ist. Auf alle Fälle ist die Liebe zum Meer die Grundlage für beide Leidenschaften. Schon als kleines Kind liebte sie es, egal bei welchem Wetter, ins Meer zu springen, gerne auch mal komplett angezogen.

Zum Surfen kam sie 2009, als sie zum Studieren an die Küste Cornwalls nach Falmouth zog, sich zum Spaß ein Foamy auslieh, in die Wellen sprang und von da an komplett hoked war. Heute lebt sie in Newquay, auf der anderen Seite Cornwalls, direkt am Meer und Surfen gehört für sie zur Tagesroutine wie Essen und Trinken. Das und ein starker Kaffe am Morgen sind für sie elementare Bestandteile des kreativen Prozesses, den sie für ihre Arbeit als Fotografin braucht.

Das Fotografieren entdeckte sie, als sie während des Studiums als Tauchlehrerin in Mexiko jobbte und alles mit einer Unterwasserkamera dokumentieret. Sechs Monate später startete sie ihr erstes Fotoprojekt, um auf Meeresverschmutzung und andere Umweltprobleme aufmerksam zu machen. Mittlerweile ist sie eine erfolgreiche Foto- und Videografin und arbeitet vorzugsweise für nachhaltige Surf- und Kleidungsmarken.

Rebel Fin wiederum ist hoked von Clare, ihrer Liebe zum Meer und einem konsequent nachhaltigen Lifestyle. So mussten wir sie auch nicht lange überreden, zusammen mit ihrer Freundin und Rebel Fin Ambassadorin Lottie Lewis für uns einen Surfspot an der Küste Cornwalls zu drehen.

Wir freuen uns, Clare in unserem Netzwerk zu haben und zusammen mit ihr unsere Welt so nachhaltig wie möglich zu gestalten.

 

Clare auf Insta / Clare James Photography