Rodrigo Cumba


 

For Rod, the sea has always been ‘the place to be’. Raised by a fishing family, he grew up on the south Brazilian coast in a small town called Tabuda. Alongside fishing, surfing was also a huge part of family life. Rod was surrounded by professional surfers from a young age and start competing early on. However, for him the attraction of surfing wasn’t the competition circuit; it was in trying new things and testing his limits, and he quit competing in pursuit of what made him happiest. 

As a musician, music has paved his way for discovering a philosophical connection with surfing and the ocean. Understanding the rhythm of the waves and combining them with new techniques is not only his personal passion but something that brings him back to the original roots of surfing.

Rod’s way of surfing is an expression of his personality and he feels equipment and kit are an extremely important aspect of the sport. He now lives in Lisbon, where he and other surf rebels are always on the lookout for new and innovative styles.

We’re proud to supply Rod with twin fins that combine classic style with more aggressive moves. He’s been on the team since 2016 and we are stoked to accompany and support him on his search. 

Rodrigo on Insta

Rodrigo Cumba



Schon von Kleinauf war das Meer für Rod "the place to be". Er wuchs in einer Fischerfamilie in dem kleinen Ort Tabuba an der brasilianischen Südatlantikküste auf. Nicht nur Fischen, auch Surfen gehörte zum Familienleben dazu. Immer von Profisurfern umgeben, war er schon früh bei Wettkämpfen dabei, fühlte sich dort aber nicht wirklich zuhause und stieg aus dem Wettkampfzirkus wieder aus. Für Rod liegt der Reiz am Surfen nicht in Competitions, sondern im Entdecken von Neuem, im Ausprobieren und Austesten von Grenzen. 

Rod ist Musiker und Musik bereitete im den Weg zu einer philosophischen Betrachtung von Surfen und Meer. Den Rhythmus der Wellen zu verstehen und mit neuen Techniken zu verbinden ist nicht nur seine ganz persönliche Leidenschaft, es bringt ihn auch zurück zu den ursprünglichen Wurzel des Surfens.

Für Rod ist seine Art zu Surfen Ausdruck seiner Persönlichkeit und Equipment und Material sind dabei ein überaus wichtiger Aspekt. Er lebt jetzt in Lissabon, wo er zusammen mit anderen Surf Rebellen immer auf der Suche ist nach neuen, innovativen und grenzüberschreitenden Styles. 

Seit 2016 surft Rod vorwiegend mit Twin Fin Boards, um klassische Moves mit aggressiveren zu verbinden. REBEL FIN möchte ihn auf seiner Suche begleiten und ihn bestmöglich mit Material und Herzblut unterstützen.

 

Rodrigo auf Insta